Supported by the National Science Foundation Collaborator: University of Michigan Collaborator: Michigan State University Collaborator: Wayne State University Collaborator: Indiana University

OSiRIS is funded by the NSF via a CC*DNI DIBBs grant awarded to the University of Michigan, Michigan State, Wayne State and Indiana University. Award Details are publicly available on the NSF website.

OSiRIS will provide a distributed, multi-institutional storage infrastructure that lets researchers write, manage, and share data from their own computing facility locations. It’s goal is transparent, high-performance access to the same storage infrastructure from well-connected locations on any participating campus. It includes network discovery, monitoring and management tools as well as the creative use of Ceph features. The project will provide data sharing, archiving, security and life-cycle managment, implemented and maintained with a single distributed service.

OSiRIS project engineering is coordinated by University Of Michigan Advanced Research Computing - Technology Services (ARC-TS).

The Principal Investigator is Shawn McKee, Research Scientist in the Department of Physics and the Director of the Center for Network and Storage-Enabled Collaborative Computational Science (CNSECCS). CNSECCS and OSiRIS are operated under the auspices of the Michigan Institute for Computational Discovery and Engineering (MICDE).


Shawn McKee       Lead PI University of Michigan
Patrick Gossman       Co-PI Wayne State University
Kenneth Merz       Co-PI Michigan State University
Martin Swany       Co-PI Indiana University

OSiRIS Staff

Jayashree Candadai       IU Principal Research Engineer
Joseph Cottam       IU Research Scientist
Ezra Kissel       IU Lead Research Scientist
Jeremy Musser       IU Student Engineer
Jeff Goeke-Smith       MSU Network Engineer
Xiaoxing (Adele) Han       MSU OSiRIS Logo Design
Andy Keen       MSU Lead Engineer
Charlie Miller       MSU Engineer
My Do       UM Student Engineer
Lillian Huang       UM Student Engineer (Summer 2016)
Jerome Kinlaw       UM Engineer
Dan Kirkland       UM Network Engineer
Benjeman Meekhof       UM Lead Engineer
Michael Gregorowicz       WSU Systems Architect
Matt Lessins       WSU Network Engineer
Carlo Musante       WSU Network Engineer
Michael Thompson       WSU Lead Engineer